Lately, I have been receiving more and more emails and phone calls
questioning whether or not there is any requirement for Concealed
Handgun Licensees to attend a continuing education class or
demonstrate shooting proficiency, before renewing their License.
When I confirm that the requirement was removed, last year, the response
I get is usually similar to,
"Who's the moron that came up with that idea?" I have
also heard the term "nit-wit" used interchangeably with "moron."
My response is always the same, "Nobody in Austin cares if you can hit
your intended target, as long as you pay your renewal fee."
By now, you've probably figured out that I believe there should still be
a continuing education requirement. It has been said by some that
the only reason I believe that is because I make money teaching the
classes. Of course, the fact that I am, undeniably, a capitalist
pig, does affect my belief, however, it is far from my primary
Why do I believe Concealed Handgun Licensees should have to re-qualify to renew their
The State of Texas
Code, Title 37, Part 7, Chapter 218, Rule §218.9 Continuing
Firearms Proficiency Requirements, requires that every Texas law
"...require each peace officer that it employs to successfully
complete the current firearms proficiency requirements at least
once each calendar year for each type of firearm carried.
I believe the need to be proficient with the
firearm that they carry is no less important for civilians than it
is for peace officers.
I am unaware of any studies that show
peace officers to be inherently less capable of proficiency with a
handgun than are civilian Concealed Handgun Licensees.
Also, without periodic testing, there is no
disqualify licensees whose mental or physical faculties
have become impaired, making it no longer possible for them to shoot a firearm without
jeopardizing the lives of persons around them.
This was brought to my
attention by a police officer friend, who pointed out that
his, practically blind, 90 year old, Concealed Handgun Licensed grandfather will be able to carry a
handgun, as long as he can pay the $35 renewal fee.
If you are one of the many Licensees,
who believe the lack of any continuing education requirement makes
current CHL law somewhat inadequate for protecting the general public,
give consideration to the following:
Start by downloading a pdf
version of the current
The Texas Handgun License Laws.
Stay current on the laws of the
State of Texas,
The downloaded pdf file is
searchable, and is easier to use if you don't print it, and
Contact us about
participating in all or
part of our next CHL Class as a refresher.
There will be NO CHARGE for
participation in the classroom instruction.
If you wish to participate in
proficiency testing, you will need only to pay the range fee in
effect at the time (Note: Range fees will be paid directly
to the range.), provide your own handgun and 50 rounds of ammunition.
Participation in either of the above
will be subject to space available in the class.
Those of you who took my Initial class
will, hopefully, remember that I spent a lot of time talking about
options. An example would be the "Castle Doctrine" that took
away the obligation to first consider retreat before using deadly force, however, retreat will always remain an option. Likewise,
although continuing education is no longer a requirement for renewal of
your CHL, it will always remain an option.
We have always believed the decision to carry a
handgun to be a serious one. We hope you will treat it with the
seriousness it deserves.