Back in 2011 [more], I published a Newsletter condemning the
practice of conducting classes that were less than the statutory minimum
length of 10 hours (Currently: Texas Government Code Sec. 411.188 requires
handgun proficiency course be "... at least 10 hours ...")
Well, it looks like the State is about to do something about what they have, since the CHL program's
inception, been considering illegal, short classes.
Is the Texas DPS finally going to start strict enforcement of the
current 10 hour law?
To the contrary, our State Legislators are going to bring offending instructors into compliance by
'dumbing-down' the system. It looks like our elected officials are going to trim about 3 - 4 hours
from the required
length of an initial CHL class [83(R) HB 47].
What does this mean?
It means that
our elected officials believe that those of us, who have been teaching in compliance
with the 10 hour law, have been wasting both our time, and our students' time. Apparently,
trying to make sure our
students left the classroom with sufficient knowledge of CHL to keep them on the right side of the law, and
attempting to ensure that their
carrying of a handgun would not jeopardize the safety of the general public has not been as important as we
have been lead to believe.
Personally, I don't think that any part of time spent with students in a 10 hour class has been wasted. I think that
taking more time to make CHL applicants aware of the consequences of carrying a
handgun in public has resulted in a higher degree of
safety for both the licensee and for the general public.
To that end, Staying Alive will conduct CHL Classes in the
All classes will be conducted in accordance with whatever shortened timelines may be required by the State.
At the end on the minimum class time requirement, students, who have successfully
met the minimum shooting proficiency requirement and the minimum written
test requirement will be issued their Form CHL-100.
Additionally, students will be given the following farewell message:
You have met the minimum
standard set by the State Texas for CHL training.
Soon after submitting your application to the Texas DPS,
you should receive a license to carry a concealed handgun, the
world’s least lethal firearm.
If you find yourself in a life-or-death situation with no option left, other
than the use of a handgun, your ability to combine the ineffectiveness of the weapon,
with grossly inadequate training, and a total disregard for the need to practice,
will probably be enough to ensure that I won’t be seeing you in a renewal class.
- - Go with God.
Then, students will be given the option to either leave,
with their certificates, or to spend additional time, not to exceed a total class time of
10 hours, to learn the material that the reduced hours did not allow
time to teach.
Any additional hours will be taught with NO
ADDITIONAL COST to the student.
Life's full of choices.