HOME

September 27, 2011

Vol. 5   No. 15

Short Classes

By far, the majority of Texas CHL Instructors take the responsibility of educating our students very seriously.  However, a very small number of CHL Instructors believe they are above the law.  They have gained reputations for teaching 'short classes'.

Instructors who make a practice of conducting non-compliant, 'short classes' would have their students believe they are doing them a big favor, by not making them stay in class for at least a full 10 hours.  In fact, the only one who benefits from a 'short class' is the instructor, who places a higher value on going home to drink a few beers and watch the second half of a Cowboys game than on teaching his/her students how to stay on the right side of the law when they are carrying a handgun.

And, if that weren't bad enough, the instructor, who teaches ‘short classes’ gets their student to falsify a State document by having the student sign the Certificate of Training Form CHL-100.

Here are a few things a student should consider, before signing the CHL-100.

What's the answer?  I believe the following Q&A outlines a step in the right direction:

Links:

Home

Short Class Report

Q.  Is there a minimum length for an initial CHL Class?

A.  Yes, Texas Government Code Sec. 411.188 requires for the handgun proficiency course be "... at least 10 hours ..."

Q.  What could happen to a student, who takes a 'short class' (one under 10 hours) from a less than scrupulous CHL Instructor?

A.  In response to a similar question put to the Texas Department of Public Safety, the following answer was given by a Department representative:

"The department will start an investigation with first the suspension of their license. There ... could be criminal charges imposed based on the finding of the investigation."

Q.  What could provide a basis for imposing criminal charges on a student?

A.  The Certificate of Training Form CHL-100 must be signed by the instructor(s), attesting to the fact that a class meets all the statutory and regulatory requirements under Chapter 411, Government Code and Title 37, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter-6.

The Form CHL-100 must also be signed by the student.

If the student has knowledge that the course was non-compliant, he or she could be charged with falsifying a government document, a felony offense.

Q.  What should the student do?

A.  If you or someone you know was taught a class that  was not in compliance with the law, do not sign the Certificate of Training Form CHL-100.

Report the incident to the Texas DPS.  You may use our Short Class Report to make a report at:

http://stayingalive.info/newsletter/pdfdocs/ShortClass.pdf

Q.  What about the money paid for the 'short class'?

A.  It might possible for you to recover amounts paid for a non-compliant class, through a civil action brought against the instructor, or

Complete a Short Class Report (link shown above), and let us submit it, along with your Form CHL-100, to the Texas DPS.  In return for helping us weed out an unscrupulous instructor, we will enroll you in a fully compliant class at NO CHARGE.

If you know someone, who could benefit from our free class offer, have them mail a completed Short Class Report to:

Staying Alive
PO Box 126
Saint Hedwig, TX  78152

The completed Certificate of Training Form CHL-100, signed by the instructor, must accompany the Short Class Report.

If you are a student who has taken a ‘short class’, ask yourself how much you are willing to risk for an instructor who has just cheated you out of the class you paid for.

If you are an instructor, who has grown weary of a few unscrupulous folks who are causing the  rest of us to be seen in the same light that shines on those cheats, consider making a similar offer in your area.

“Always Cheat, Always Win,” is darned good advice for how to prevail in a gunfight, but it does not serve our students well, when they are the ones cheated.


Practice, Practice, Practice

BACK TO 2011 TABLE OF CONTENTS


Copyright © 2001 - Staying Alive, Inc.®